Home / 2017 AAUS BOD Election


The 2017 AAUS election opens May 01 and closes June 30.

This year the Academy will elect a Director-at-Large, Secretary and President-elect whose terms will start on January 01, 2018. Below is a slate of candidates for each position and a link to a pdf that contains the candidates' bio and answers to the AAUS election questions.

The election is open to Full Voting Members (individual and OM Reps) in good standing (dues paid, etc.). Ballots are accessed via the AAUS website, www.aaus.org, by logging into your individual account and selecting 'Voting and Polling.' To write in a candidate, send an email with the name of the candidate for which you are voting to two of the election committee members: 

·         Amy Moran, Chair (morana@hawaii.edu)

·         George Peterson (gpeterson@mbayaq.org)

·         Rob Robbins (Rob.Robbins.Contractor@usap.gov)

·         Lora Pride (Lora.Pride@ch2m.com)

·         Steven Sellers (steven_sellers@nps.gov)


2017 AAUS BOD Slate of Candidates


Dale Anderson, SETI Institute

Kevin Buch, Oregon State University

Ross Whippo, Smithsonian Environmental Research Center



Rick Riera-Gomez, University of Miami

Brett Seymour, National Park Service

Derek Smith, University of Washington



Jay Haigler, National Association of Black Scuba Divers Foundation        

Jessica Keller, National Park Service             

Chris Ledford, Texas Parks and Wildlife        


All candidate bios and answers to elections questions can be found here or in the Resource Library/Documents/Elections.



This site designed by Lunar Cow.